Skip to content ↓


As well as promoting our school, governors are accountable for providing strategic leadership and hold responsibility for the school's finances and policies. It is governors who work with our principal to make tough decisions about the operation of the trust, our school and our school's role in the wider community.

Chair of Governors: Andy Battle (MLT appointment for 12 months from 27 September 2021)
Vice Chair of Governors: Nicky Parr (MLT appointment for 12 months from 27 September 2021)
Principal: Liam Ransome

Clerk to Governors: Hayley Potts
Hayley Potts can be contacted by email at:

Local Governance Committee Structure

2 Parent Governors (appointed by parent / carers at the school by election)
4 Community Governors
4 Business/ Education Governors
1 Staff (Teacher) Governor (appointed by staff at the school by election)
1 Staff (Associate Professional) Governor (appointed by staff at the school by election)
1 Principal

Governing Committee Membership

Name Category Appointed Term of Office
Brian Tinnion
Community  1 Apr 2023 4 Years
Jayne Dickson Community 1 Apr 2023 4 Years
Melanie Booth Community 5 May 2021 4 Years
Claire Garbutt Community  15 November 2021 4 years
Andrew Battle
Business/Education  1 Sept 2020 4 Years
Alan Warboys
Business/Education  19 Sept 2019 4 Years
Nicola Parr
Business/Education  1 Sept 2019 4 Years
Richard Pease Business/Education  12 Dec 2019 4 Years
Lynn Dixon Parent  15 November 2021 4 years
Lindsey Sandberg Parent 7 November 2021 4 Years
Liam Ransome Principal 1 Sept 2020


Sheryl Casey Staff (Teacher)  15 November 2022 4 years
Richard Matthews Staff (Associate Professional) 1 April 2023 4 years
Matt Stamp Associate 15 September 2022 4 years

Governors Who Have Stepped Down Since September 2020

Name Category Stepped Down
Paddy Murtagh-Burd Staff (Teacher) 24 April 2022
Matt McDonald Associate

14 September 2022

Jayne Ackerley Staff (Associate Professional) 31 March 2023



For more information regarding Trust Governance and statutory documents please click here, Maltby Learning Trust - Governance